The Importance of Designations

The number of years one spends working in the finance industry is very important, but at Mission Advisory Group of Raymond James, we believe it is what you do during that time that is most important. We try to spend as much time as possible gaining knowledge through education so we can provide you with all the information you need to make the best decision for your future. Here is a list and explanation of the different credentials held by the individuals on our team.

Accredited Investment Fiduciary® (AIF®)

The AIF® designation demonstrates that an investment professional has participated in advanced training in the subject of fiduciary responsibility. An AIF® designee must complete a specialized program on investment fiduciary standards and then pass a comprehensive exam.

The designation signifies that those who follow the appropriate planning procedures will implement a prudent process into their own investment practices, as well as being able to assist others in implementing proper policies and procedures. Simply said, those with the AIF® designation must always act in the best interest of their client regarding all financial investment matters.

Accredited Asset Management Specialist SM (AAMS®)

The AAMS financial services designation is awarded by the College for Financial Planning and provides additional education in asset management. This certification is designed to ensure advisors can assist clients with their complete financial needs and gives them a strong, fundamental, financial knowledge with a specific focus on asset management and investments. AAMS® emphasizes evaluating the client’s assets and making appropriate recommendations.

Certified Financial Planner (CFP®)

For more than 30 years, the CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ certification has been the standard of excellence for financial planners. CFP® professionals have met extensive training and experience requirements and commit to CFP Board's ethical standards that require them to put their clients' interests first. That's why partnering with a CFP® professional gives consumers confidence today and a more secure tomorrow.

Certified Plan Fiduciary Advisors (CPFA)

The CPFA credential was developed by some of the nation's leading advisors and retirement plan experts and demonstrates your knowledge, expertise, and commitment to working with retirement plans. Plan advisors who earn their CPFA demonstrate the expertise required to act as a plan fiduciary or help plan fiduciaries manage their roles and responsibilities.

Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC®)

A ChFC® is a professional designation representing the completion of a comprehensive course consisting of financial education, examinations, and practical experience. ChFC® designations are granted by the American College upon completion of seven required courses and two elective courses. Those who earn the designation are understood to be knowledgeable in financial matters and to have the ability to provide sound advice on a range of topics such as tax and retirement planning to special needs advising, wealth management, insurance, and more.

Financial professionals that hold the designation must adhere to a certain set of ethical guidelines where they are required to do the same for clients as they would do for themselves in similar circumstances.

Chartered Retirement Planning Counselor SM (CRPC®)

The CRPC® designation is awarded by the College for Financial Planning. The program enables experienced advisors, who are focused on retirement planning for individuals, define a “road map to retirement.” There is a focus on clients’ pre- and post-retirement needs, as well as issues related to asset management and estate planning.

Chartered Retirement Planning Specialist SM (CRPS®)

The CRPS® designation is awarded by the College for Financial Planning. The program provides experienced advisors who are focused on retirement plans with the knowledge to recommend implementation techniques that can be executed into well-structured, company-appropriate retirement plans. Designees will be able to effectively administer retirement plans for businesses and their employees.

Life Underwriting Training Council Fellow SM (LUTCF®)

The LUTCF® designation is awarded jointly by the College for Financial Planning and the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors. Financial Planning Individuals that hold the LUTCF® designation have completed a program of study that includes 3 separate courses that focus on practice management, life insurance, insurance products, investment products, and risk management.

Wealth Management Specialist SM (WMSSM)

The WMS designation is awarded by the College for Financial Planning. The program provides a substantial overview of the most critical concepts in financial planning and wealth management. The coursework is designed to give the advisor a better understanding of the fundamentals of wealth accumulation and management of high-net-worth individuals.